Project Images

Project Details
All Towns
Start Date
August 2011
End Date
December 2013
Public Outreach

Peconic Estuary Intermunicipal Agreement

The Peconic Estuary Program has initiated the development of an inter-municipal agreement among the municipal governments within the Peconic Estuary Watershed.  The goal of the coalition will be to work together toward improved water quality by sharing information and technical resources, coordinating regulation and enforcement activities, jointly conducting outreach and education initiatives, and cooperating on planning and infrastructure programs.   Recognizing the success of similar coalitions on Long Island and elsewhere, the Peconic Estuary Program (PEP) funded the development of a draft agreement, outreach and coordination with municipalities, an assessment of stormwater management needs, development of draft workplan elements, and implementation of a few high-priority tasks to initiate the effort.  Once this coalition is formed, it will operate by committee, with representatives from each participating municipality, developing a workplan and setting dues annually.  Municipal dues will fund a coordinator who will facilitate information and resource sharing, communication among member municipalities, and joint initiatives, ensuring that the annual workplan is carried out.  Once the municipalities have signed the agreement, they will have the ability to opt in or out each year, committing a share of the dues when opting in.  So far, the towns of Brookhaven, Southold, East Hampton, Southampton, Shelter Island, and Riverhead and Greenport Village have passed resolutions committing to sign onto the agreement.  We are hopeful that all 12 Peconic watershed municipalities will participate.  Those are: COUNTY OF SUFFOLK,TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN,TOWN OF EAST HAMPTON,TOWN OF RIVERHEAD,TOWN OF SHELTER ISLAND,TOWN OF SOUTHAMPTON,TOWN OF SOUTHOLD,VILLAGE OF DERING HARBOR,VILLAGE OF GREENPORT,VILLAGE OF NORTH HAVEN,VILLAGE OF SAG HARBOR, ANDNEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION